OSU Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Symposium 2013

Graduate Research Symposium 2013

The 10th Annual BMBGSA Research Symposium was celebrated on September 19th and 20th at the Oklahoma State University Noble Research Center.

The symposium began with an opening presentation by OSU President Burns Hargis and had ~ 300 people in attendance overall over the 2 days. Besides President Hargis, we also had the honor of having the attendance of Interim Vice President and Dean of the DASNR Dr. Michael Woods, CASNR Associate Dean Dr. Cynda Clary, OAES Director Dr. Jonathan Edelson and CASNR Assistant Dean Dr. Steve Damron. It was wonderful to have our OSU administration not only support, but also participate in our symposium!

Our keynote speaker this year was Professor Kent Vorhees for the Colorado School of Mines who gave a presentation entitled “Bacterial Identification by Analytical Instrumentation”.

We were particularly honored to have a presentation by our own Stevens Chair and Regents Professor Andrew Mort who gave a talk entitled, "A Brief History of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; How fungi get rid of dead wood.”

During the event we had 78 presentations (The largest number ever!) from young OSU scientists representing 15 different Departments.


Graduate Oral Presentation winners: Mitch Greer (Natural Resources Ecology Management), Francisco Flores (Entomology and Plant Pathology), and Heather Stigge (Zoology);
Graduate Poster Presentation winners: Sarah Firdaus (BMB), Xiaotong Chen (Microbiology Molecular Genetics), and Kelly Harrison (Microbiology Molecular Genetics);
Undergraduate Poster Presentation Winners: Lindsey Berger (Microbiology Molecular Genetics), Julia Materia (Animal Science), and Kayla Davis (BMB).


Financial assistance from: OSU Vice President of Research, Dr. Steve McKeever; Interim Vice President and Dean of the DASNR, Dr. Michael Woods; Center for Veterinary Health Sciences Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Dr. Christopher Ross; OSU Vice President for Student Affairs, Dr. Lee Bird; and funds garnered by the hard working faculty of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

A big round of jubilant applause needs to go out the incredible Biochemistry and Molecular Graduate Students who organized and ran the entire symposium! The largest amount of the work was performed by the BMBGSA leaders President Cynthia Dobbs, Vice President Nathaniel Torres, Secretary Sarah Firdaus, Treasurer Maurie Balch and the Faculty Representative Stephanie Matyi. The BCMB staff members Michael O'Bryan, Chelsie Taylor, Nelda Driggs and Melissa Kirk, also contributed time to run and prepare for this celebration!

Document Actions

Oklahoma State University  Stillwater, OK 74078 | 405.744.5000


Contribute to BMB

foundation accounts.

« May 2019 »