OSU Biochemistry and Molecular Biology


JamesKenamer.pngThe Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology presents our honored recipient of DASNR’s 2015 Distinguished Alumni award, Dr. James E. Kennamer. Dr. Kennamer graduated from OSU with a B.S. and PhD in 1981 and 1986, respectively. Following his PhD, Dr. Kennamer went on to work for some of the most prestigious companies in the world, such as: Sigma, Roche, and Stratagene. Presently he is employed as Vice President of Manufacturing for Talecris Bio Therapeutics/Grifols Therapeutics, where he directs the activities of approximately 800 employees and engages in product development and manufacturing. During his distinguished career, Dr. Kennamer’s efforts have supported the development of a blood glucose test used around the world by diabetics to aid in the monitoring of glucose levels. He also helped develop a test which is utilized to monitor warfarin therapy and reduce the number of life threatening events and improve the quality of life in patients receiving this therapy. Dr. Kennamer credits much of his professional success to the educational experience he had at OSU within the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. The Department was indeed honored to have this Distinguished Alumnus come speak with our students and faculty this past October and we all look forward to seeing what the future holds for Dr. Kennamer.

Krishna.pngGraduate student Krishna Raj Bhattarai, Published Author. A big congratulations goes out to BMB graduate student Krishna Raj Bhattarai! He is now a published author in the highly regarded journal, ‘Nature Genetics.’ High-density genotyping of immune-related loci identifies new SLE risk variants in individuals with Asian ancestry.






PeterHoyt.pngBridging with Langston. We would like to congratulate Dr. Peter Hoyt who received a certificate of appreciation from Langston University. Dr. Hoyt is credited with giving a lecture on nucleic acid sequencing technology, that helps our department build on our relationship with our colleagues at Langston University.

We are so excited that 15 out of 34 HHMI freshman research scholars are from the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. A loud round of applause goes out to the following undergraduats: Alisha Beckford, Julia Clark, Brock Crockett-Beck, Baleigh Gilley, Kami Hogan, Kristy Johnson, Kolton Kardokus, Reed Lemons, Angel Mullis, Jessyca Naegele, Lauren Oliver, Timothy Rosencrans, Crystal Trac, Kyle Wheeler, and Rachel Williams. For more on the Life Science Freshman Research Scholars Program.


Join Our New Facebook Group -

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Oklahoma State University


Document Actions

Oklahoma State University  Stillwater, OK 74078 | 405.744.5000